The Anglo-Danish Society

The Council


Wayne Harber, OBE K (London)

Wayne was born in New Guinea, was educated in London and has a degree in Politics. He spent 33 years in the Army with the Queen’s Regiment, Princess of Wales’s Royal Regiment (PWRR) and the Royal Irish Regiment. His career covered a wide range of employment including battalion command, logistics, recruiting, officer selection and intelligence appointments, amongst others. He served in Gibraltar, England, Northern Ireland, Cyprus, Germany, Saudi Arabia, Kenya, South Sudan and Iraq. He retired from the Army in 2011 and spent a year as CEO of an investigations company before taking up the appointment of PWRR Regimental Secretary, retiring in January 2018. He joined the Society in 2012, was co-opted to Council in September 2017 and elected at the following AGM May 2018 before being appointed Chairman of the Council in September.  

Vice Chairman

Peter Davis OBE (Surrey)

 Peter is British (half Danish - his late mother was Danish). His wife Anne is Danish. Peter has been the Director General of the British Plastics Federation from 1997 to 2014. Amongst his previous positions are: Special advisor to Secretary of State Kenneth Baker (now Lord Baker of Dorking); Head of Home Affairs in the Conservative Research Dept; Director of the Royal Institute of British Architects; Chief Executive of the Industry Council for Packaging and the Environment; Goodwill Ambassador for the City of Copenhagen. He joined the Society in 1996, was co-opted in June 2014, elected to the Council in May 2015 and elected Vice Chairman in October 2016.

Honorary Treasurer

Alan Davey, FCMA (Essex)

Alan was born in Portsmouth, studied business and eventually became a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants. He worked predominantly in life sciences and mostly in the pharmaceutical sector. Through merger and acquisition he worked in Eastbourne, Dagenham, Paris and Frankfurt for major international research and discovery based organisations.Returning from Frankfurt to the UK Alan joined The British Plastics Federation where he spent the last 10 years before retirement as Director of Finance & Administration. Alan and his wife Glyn live in Essex and enjoy time with their three children and two grandchildren. Co-opted in February 2017 Alan's election to Council was confirmed at the AGM 2017, and his appointment as Honorary Treasurer confirmed in September 2017.

Honorary Secretary

Bette Petersen Broyd (Surrey)

Bette grew up in Skanderborg, spent a year as an au-pair in USA and worked in many different jobs from tour guide to Karolinepige and receptionist. She studied English and Drama at University in London, taught English for a number of years in secondary schools before becoming Lead Teacher at The Royal Marsden Hospital where she also carried out research and wrote books on teaching pupils with cancer.  She does free-lance translations from Danish to English and taught Danish at The Danish Church for 15 years. She was elected to Council in May 2016 and appointed Honorary Secretary in Oct. 2016.

Bette is married to Ian whom she met in The Anglo-Danish Society Student Section where she was active on the committee for many years. They have 3 grown up children.

Kate Grønholm (London)

Kate grew up in Dorset, studied Classics at Bristol University and then moved to London where she initially worked in advertising and PR before moving to Gartner, one of the largest information technology research organisations.  At Gartner she was involved with marketing, research, strategy, event organisation and business development on an international basis.  In 1999 she married Klaus Grønholm, a Danish citizen, and together they formed their own company, K-Square Ltd, focusing on marketing and business development for IT companies.  In 2014 Kate stepped back from her commercial activities to allow her to become more involved in Charity work, specifically as Chairman of The Friends of Fulham Palace (Registered Charity No.277797).

Kate & Klaus have their main base in Fulham, London but they also have a summerhouse in Asserbo, Denmark where they spend an increasing amount of time. They joined the Society in 2017, and Kate was co-opted Feb. 2018 and elected to Council at the following AGM in May.


Christian Rasmussen (Essex)

Christian is the son of the late Jens Peter Rasmussen, a former long- standing member of the Anglo-Danish Society. Christian has been greatly influenced by his father’s pride in all things Danish, to the point where he feels as much Danish as he does British. Christian studied International Business at Nottingham Trent Business School and has worked in Private Banking in London and Los Angeles. He is currently an Associate Director at Julius Baer in London and an Associate member of the Chartered Institute for Securities and Investment. He lives with his wife Emma in Essex. Co-opted to Council in Febr. 2017 Christian's election to Council was confirmed at the 2017 AGM.


Ex officio members:

Lone Britt Christensen

Cultural Attaché at the Royal Danish Embassy in London. Lone was educated at University of Southern Denmark, Odense and Trinity College, Dublin and joined the Embassy in 1997. Since 2006 she has been a member of the Scholarship Committee.

Palle B Pedersen, R

General Manager of KFUK in London since 1991 and a member of the Anglo-Danish Society since 1992.

Pastor Flemming Kloster Poulsen

Pastor at the Danish Church, London since July 2016. Flemming was invited to Council in the Autumn 2016 when he and his wife Hannah became members of The Anglo-Danish Society.


Members of the Scholarship Committee: 

Wayne Harber (Chair) (as above)

Lone Britt Christensen (as above)

Birger Jensen, former Scholarship Secretary 2006-2013 and Vice Chairman 2013-16. 

Dr Kristian Jensen, R, Head of Collections and Curation, British Library, London. Kristian became a member of The Anglo-Danish Society in 2001 and was invited to the Scholarship Committee in 2009.

Dr Claire Thomson, Associate Professor of Scandinavian Film Dept. of Scandinavian Studies, SELCS, University College London. Claire has served on the Scholarship Committee since 2005.